SVDDEN DEATH Is The Newest Face Of Dubstep [INTERVIEW]

https://runthetrap.com
SVDDEN DEATH Is The Newest Face Of Dubstep [INTERVIEW]

Making his arrival to old stomping grounds, SVDDEN DEATH was able to pay a special visit back at his hometown of San Jose, California. Enlisted as a hectic support act for Snails‘ wicked Shell 2.0 Tour, the California native was ready to rock a crowd full of anxious bassheads. Packing the venue in all directions, concertgoers came out in full force to show support for the hometown kid. After boasting an extraordinary campaign this year, the dubstep artist saw his career propel due to breakout records such as “Angel Style” with Somnium Sound and his entire “VOYD Vol.1” EP. To capture all his thoughts and feelings, we caught up with the new face of dubstep in this exclusive interview.

What was your first experience with Electronic Music?

I mean, as a kid. I grew up listening to Kraftwerk and stuff like that. Back then it was considered super experimental. My first experience with dubstep in particular though, I listened to some old Benga with my friends. My friend was really into UK/BBC Radio stuff and showed it all to me. When I first got into it, there was this app I had in like 2008 when androids were super new and stuff. I had this shitty app that helped me download music and I was looking up a bunch of Skream and Rusko etc. – SVDDEN DEATH

It’s interesting how that moment became so important to you because in your early years you were in metal/indie/jazz bands correct?

I did a bunch of random shit yeah haha – SVDDEN DEATH

That’s quite the musical journey, Your earlier aliases saw you producing stuff along the lines of Electro & Big Room. Looking back at that time, who would you say are your greatest musical influences?

Yeah mostly just electro. I was super inspired by Mord Fustang, Feed Me, and Skrillex. – SVDDEN DEATH

Do you aspire to mirror any of their styles/sounds?
Me and Somnium Sound, we’ve been listening to a lot of Knife Party and stuff. We’re trying to bring that kind of style back. Not in a dramatic sense, but just to make it you know. – SVDDEN DEATH

Just for fun right?
Yeah, because back then I fucking sucked hahaha – SVDDEN DEATH

What do you think is the biggest change you have seen in EDM or Dubstep since your early days?

Dubstep has gone through a lot of different changes over the past decade. Ever since it started getting recognized as its own genre. Back in 2008 I feel like Dubstep went past Garage and stuff. The biggest thing I’ve seen now from when I use to go to raves is that Dubstep used to be much more melodic and uplifting. Now I feel like the genre is just pure ‘fuck you’ music. Like mosh pit, fucking punch your family in the face music. – SVDDEN DEATH

I don’t know if you’ve heard people say ” I’d punch a baby to this” I know I’ve said it before.

I’ll punch a baby. Give me your baby I’ll punch them in the face! – SVDDEN DEATH

Can I quote you on that?

Oh yeah 100% hahaha – SVDDEN DEATH

Having such an explosive year, the recent chatter has surrounded your side-alias VOYD. What convinced you to create the project?

To me, it’s not really a side-alias anymore. It’s more of a continuation of like a darker and heavier style of my music. With SVDDEN DEATH I want to branch out and do more melodic stuff. I still think VOYD is the kind of music I get into when i’m mad or really stressed. – SVDDEN DEATH

How will you differentiate VOYD and Svdden Death going forward?

The way it’s being put out in the shows is sort of poised to look as a side alias but to be honest I don’t want to differentiate it much. I just want people to know it’s still me and that VOYD is a part of SVDDEN DEATH. – SVDDEN DEATH

It’s been insane to see your career propel in the way it has and I’m sure you have even crazier feelings about it. With that said, What has surprised you the most about being a Touring DJ/Producer?

It’s really really really hard. It’s not like I expected it to be easy nor am I surprised but the most important part to me is that when you’re making music you have to keep a really strong work ethic. Especially because everyone’s attention spans in dubstep are really short because theres a lot of songs and crazy ideas being pushed out all the time. When that happens it’s awesome because it inspires a lot of people but when it happens you need continue being consistent so people don’t get bored. – SVDDEN DEATH

What are you most excited/nervous about in the future?

I’m really excited to do my own headlining tour with a bunch of my friends who i’ve been making music with since day one. I’m really excited to start making more experimental shit and more heavier shit…. as far as what i’m nervous about… definitely all of that too hahaha – SVDDEN DEATH

STAY IN THE KNOW! FOLLOW US ON SPOTIFY

SVDDEN DEATH
Twitter | Facebook | Soundcloud | Instagram

▲ ▲ Read More About SVDDEN DEATH Here ▲ ▲

Read more from Omar and connect with him on Soundcloud, Twitter, and Instagram.

‘SVDDEN DEATH Is The Newest Face Of Dubstep [INTERVIEW]

The post SVDDEN DEATH Is The Newest Face Of Dubstep [INTERVIEW] appeared first on Run The Trap: The Best EDM, Hip Hop & Trap Music.

Check out the full story!

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close